State Minimum Auto/Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

More than 750,000 licensed drivers hit the road in Rhode Island each year. They drive an annual average of 7,500 miles. Each year thousands of accidents occur. In order to protect those traveling the Ocean State’s roads, the state requires drivers to carry a minimum level of car insurance.

Do not drive the roads in Warwick, RI or elsewhere without auto or motorcycle insurance because if you get caught, you will face stiff penalties. The Slocum Agency, Inc. wants you to remain safely on the road. Here are the minimum car/motorcycle insurance requirements for Rhode Island:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
  • $50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability
  • $25,000/$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist property damage
  • $3,000 in medical payments insurance.

The only optional items are uninsured motorist property damage and medical coverage. While the state does not require additional personal liability, collision, or comprehensive coverage, you may not be able to afford to pay other party’s medical bills or to completely replace your vehicle, we can help you do so.

If you get caught driving the roads of Warwick, RI without insurance, you face a first offense penalty of a $500 fine and a 3-month suspension of your driver’s license, plus the state could revoke your registration and license plates. The second offense nets the same, but if you get caught a third time it is a $1,000 fine and a possible one-year jail sentence.

You can’t register a vehicle in the state if you can’t prove you carry insurance, so visit The Slocum Agency, Inc. today to insure your ride. Stay on the roads legally and enjoy the drive.